Association du syndrome de Sjögren

Non-profit organization whose primary mission is to support and inform people with Sjögren syndrome (pronounced "sjeu-greunne") and their loved ones. This chronic autoimmune disease of the immune system affects approximately 1% of the general population. Nine times out of ten, they are women – generally aged 50.

What's New

REMINDER – New address from April 1, 2024.

11 June 2024

Sjögren’s Syndrome Association Inc. 706 rue Laurier, bureau 100A Beloeil (QC) J3G 4J6 We kindly ask you to update your contacts and note this new address for all our future meetings and correspondence. Telephone: (514) […]

Read more...

World Sjögren’s Syndrome Day

10 June 2024

July 23, 2024 World Sjögren’s Syndrome Day is designed to put a face on the millions of people living with the disease or suffering from symptoms who have yet to be diagnosed. It gives everyone […]

Read more...

For members only – Group meeting

6 June 2024

Presentation of rheumatologist Dr. Shen’s lecture in rerun:  “Understanding Sjogren’s Syndrome”   When: Tuesday, June 11, 2024 Time: 6:30 p.m. to 7:20 p.m. Followed by a discussion period Subjets include: What is Sjögren’s Syndrome? How […]

Read more...

Sjögren's syndrome  is a chronic autoimmune disease that causes the immune system to attack the glands responsible for producing saliva (salivary glands) and tears (lacrimal glands). Although Sjögren's syndrome is commonly known as "dry eyes and dry mouth syndrome," it can also affect other organs such as the lungs, kidneys, lymphatic system, and neurological system.

We organize support group meetings and information sessions for our members and their families.These meetings are currently held in virtual mode on the Zoom platform. We publish a bilingual magazine entitled “Le Sjögren”, which is sent to our members and healthcare professionals four times a year.

You'll find articles on Sjögren's syndrome, information on our association, useful tips for modifying your environment and lifestyle to improve your symptoms, and news on the latest research.

A word about our logo

Association du syndrome de Sjögren logo

This logo was chosen in 1994 by the Sjögren's syndrome group shortly after its formation in Montreal (Quebec), Canada. It was designed by one of our members.

Our logo is shaped like an eye, as it is the site of one of the first symptoms associated with Sjögren's syndrome. Dry eyes are the most common symptom. The dove symbolizes the peace that all people with chronic illness actively seek. The heart represents the compassion we have for all those who suffer from this illness.

Many of us have difficulty adjusting to the health problems associated with Sjogren's syndrome. The members of the association try to bring comfort and help to other people suffering from this disease. The tear symbolizes the hydration required for our dry eyes and other parts of our body.

A Quebec policy for rare diseases and the action plan 2023-2027

4 June 2024

A first in Quebec and Canada

On June 6, 2022, the Minister of Health and Social Services, Christian Dubé, accompanied by his parliamentary assistant, Marilyne Picard, announced the establishment of the first Quebec policy for rare diseases. This aims to optimize accessibility to quality health care and services that are safe, equitable, inclusive and adapted to the specific needs of patients with rare diseases and their families.

The policy, which was the subject of a consultation process involving 24 rare disease organizations, including the Sjögren Syndrome Association as well as others organizations specialized in this sector, is divided into three main axes:

  • this involves awareness and training, particularly for health professionals,
  • facilitated and equitable access to diagnosis, care and services,
  • as well as the promotion of research, innovation and data collection.

Word from the Minister of Health and Social Services

Mr. Christian Dubé, Minister of Health and Social Services.

Photo of Minister of Health Christian DubéRare diseases constitute serious and disabling health problems which can include chronic pain, various forms of deficiency or damage to several organs or systems. There are between 5,000 and 8,000 worldwide, which together affect up to 8% of the population. In Quebec, this represents approximately 700,000 people, affected at different stages of life, sometimes even before birth and into adulthood.

The lack of understanding we have about these diseases in the medical community leads to many challenges for those affected and their families. Among these challenges, note the difficulty of obtaining a diagnosis, treatments, reliable information on the disease or support. Note also that access to services in the region is an additional difficulty for patients living outside major centers. To these issues, it must be added that the very limited number of people suffering from one of these diseases slows down the development of appropriate treatments, or leads to the creation of drugs that remain very expensive and rather inaccessible.

Faced with all these accessibility challenges, we must show solidarity and offer an adequate response to people’s needs. This is why the implementation of this policy is very important to us. These people have the right to have better access to diagnosis, health care and treatment, regardless of their place of residence, their condition or their cultural reality.

Such a policy is a first in Quebec and Canada. Our government recognizes the specific needs of those affected and their families and we ensure that we respond to them in the best possible way. It’s a question of fairness for all, and in this way we are committed to making a lasting difference, with the support of our teams across the network.

Source : Politique québécoise pour les maladies rares  (June 6, 2022)


Quebec action plan for rare diseases 2023-2027

To follow up on the June 2022 publication of the Politique québécoise pour les maladies rares, the MSSS is reiterating its commitment to people with rare diseases by unveiling its first action plan. The proposed actions are spread over a 4-year period (2023-2027) and are in line with the 3 axes of intervention unveiled in the policy: awareness and training, facilitated access to care and services, and the promotion of research, innovation and data collection.

As with the policy, the action plan is the fruit of collaboration between patients, rare disease organizations, clinicians, researchers and various MSSS bodies.

Word from the minister

It is with pride that we present to you the action plan For better recognition and care of people suffering from rare diseases. This action plan concretizes the policy on rare diseases presented last year, which was a first both in Quebec and in the country as a whole. With the actions it proposes, it will profoundly change the quality of care for people suffering from rare diseases, from a perspective of prevention unmatched until now.

We are very sensitive to the situation experienced by people suffering from rare diseases, as well as their loved ones. The action plan aims to ensure that the health care and social services that patients receive are of the best possible quality, as well as safe, equitable, inclusive, adapted to their specific needs, accessible and aware to cultural imperatives.

As part of the 2023-2024 budget, our government is allocating total funding of $17.2 million to carry out the various measures. Just like the policy, the action plan is structured around three main axes, namely awareness and training, easier and equitable access to diagnosis and, finally, the promotion of research, innovation and data gathering.

We know that this action plan was long awaited. We thus give ourselves the means to overcome certain current challenges such as the difficulty of having a rapid diagnosis or the lack of information due to the rarity of these diseases.

Together, by strengthening interdisciplinary links between professionals, we will be able to meet these challenges and offer a better service pathway to affected people and their loved ones.

Christian Dubé Minister of Health

Source : plan d’action sur les maladies rares (May 1, 2023)

Association du syndrome de Sjögren

Organisme à but non lucratif qui a pour mission première de soutenir et d'informer les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Sjögren (prononcer "sjeu-greunne") et leurs proches. Cette maladie auto-immune chronique du système immunitaire affecte environ 1% de la population générale. Neuf fois sur dix, il s’agit de femmes – généralement âgées de 50 ans.

Ce qu'il y a de nouveau !

RAPPEL – Nouvelle adresse à partir du 1er avril 2024

11 juin 2024

Association du syndrome de Sjögren inc. 706 rue Laurier, bureau 100A Beloeil (QC) J3G 4J6 Nous vous prions de bien vouloir mettre à jour vos contacts et de noter cette nouvelle adresse pour toutes nos […]

Lire plus...

Journée mondiale du syndrome de Sjögren

10 juin 2024

23 juillet 2024 La Journée mondiale du syndrome de Sjögren est destinée à mettre un visage sur les millions de personnes qui vivent avec cette maladie ou qui souffrent de symptômes et qui n’ont pas […]

Lire plus...

Pour les membres seulement – Rencontre de groupe

6 juin 2024

Présentation de la conférence du Dr Shen, rhumatologue en rediffusion : « Comprendre le syndrome de Sjögren » Quand : Mardi 11 juin 2024 Heure : de 18h30 à 19h20 Suivi d’une période d’échange. Les sujets abordés […]

Lire plus...

Le syndrome de Sjögren est une maladie auto-immune chronique dans laquelle le système immunitaire s’attaque aux glandes qui produisent la salive (glandes salivaires) et les larmes (glandes lacrymales), mais peut aussi toucher d’autres organes comme les poumons, les reins, le système lymphatique et le système neurologique.

Nous organisons des rencontres de groupe de soutien et des séances d'information pour nos membres et leur famille. Ces rencontres ont lieu actuellement en mode virtuel sur la plateforme Zoom. Nous publions également une revue bilingue intitulée « Le Sjögren », qui est envoyée à nos membres et à certains professionnels de la santé quatre fois par année.

Vous y trouverez des articles sur le syndrome de Sjögren, de l'information sur notre association, des conseils utiles pour modifier votre environnement et vos habitudes de vie dans le but d'améliorer vos symptômes ainsi que des nouvelles portant sur les dernières recherches.

Un mot sur notre logo

Capture d’écran 2018-10-19 à 20.40.26

Ce logo a été choisi en 1994 par le groupe du syndrome de Sjögren peu après sa formation à Montréal (Québec), Canada. Il a été conçu par un de nos membres.

Notre logo a la forme d'un œil, puisque c'est le siège de l'un des premiers symptômes associés au syndrome de Sjögren. La sécheresse des yeux est le symptôme le plus fréquent. La colombe symbolise la paix que toutes les personnes atteintes d'une maladie chronique recherchent activement. Le cœur représente la compassion que nous avons pour tous ceux qui souffrent de cette maladie.

Bon nombre d'entre nous avons de la difficulté à nous adapter aux problèmes de santé associés au syndrome de Sjögren. Les membres de l'association tentent d'apporter du réconfort et de l'aide à d'autres personnes atteintes de cette maladie. La larme symbolise l'hydratation requise pour nos yeux secs et les autres parties de notre organisme.

Une politique québécoise pour les maladies rares et le plan d’action

4 juin 2024

Une première au Québec et au Canada

Le 6 juin 2022, le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Christian Dubé, accompagné de son adjointe parlementaire, Marilyne Picard, annonçait la mise sur pied de la première politique québécoise pour les maladies rares. Celle-ci vise à optimiser l’accessibilité des soins et des services de santé de qualité, sécuritaires, équitables, inclusifs et adaptés aux besoins particuliers des patients atteints de maladies rares et de leur famille.

La politique, qui a fait l’objet d’un processus de consultation mobilisant 24 organismes entourant les maladies rares, dont l’Association du syndrome de Sjögren ainsi que d’autres organisations spécialisées dans ce secteur, se décline selon trois axes principaux :

  • il s’agit de la sensibilisation et de la formation, notamment des professionnels de la santé,
  • de l’accès facilité et équitable au diagnostic, aux soins et aux services,
  • de même que de la promotion de la recherche, de l’innovation et de la collecte de données.

Mot du ministre de la santé et des services sociaux

M. Christian Dubé, Ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux.

Photo du ministre de la santé Christian DubéLes maladies rares constituent des problèmes de santé graves et invalidants qui peuvent comporter des douleurs chroniques, diverses formes de déficience ou une atteinte de plusieurs organes ou systèmes. Il en existe entre 5 000 et 8 000 dans le monde, qui toutes ensemble affectent jusqu’à 8 % de la population. Au Québec, cela représente approximativement 700 000 personnes, touchées à différents stades de la vie, parfois même avant la naissance et jusqu’à l’âge adulte.

La méconnaissance que nous avons de ces maladies dans la communauté médicale entraîne de nombreux défis pour les personnes atteintes et leur famille. Parmi ces défis, notons la difficulté d’obtenir un diagnostic, des traitements, de l’information fiable sur la maladie ou du soutien. Soulignons également que l’accès aux services en région est une difficulté supplémentaire pour les patients habitant hors des grands centres. À ces enjeux, il faut ajouter que le nombre très limité de personnes atteintes d’une de ces maladies fait en sorte de ralentir le développement de traitements appropriés, ou mène à la création de médicaments qui demeurent très chers et plutôt inaccessibles.

Devant tous ces défis d’accessibilité, nous nous devons d’être solidaires et d’offrir une réponse adéquate aux besoins des personnes. C’est pourquoi la mise en œuvre de cette politique nous tient grandement à cœur. Ces personnes ont le droit d’avoir un meilleur accès au diagnostic, aux soins de santé et aux traitements, et ce, quel que soit leur lieu de résidence, leur condition ou leur réalité culturelle.

Une telle politique constitue une première au Québec et au Canada. Notre gouvernement reconnaît les besoins spécifiques des personnes atteintes et leur famille et nous nous assurons d’y répondre de la meilleure manière possible. C’est une question d’équité pour toutes et tous, et nous nous engageons de cette manière à changer les choses de manière durable, avec l’appui de nos équipes de l’ensemble du réseau.

Source : Politique québécoise pour les maladies rares  (6 Juin 2022)


Plan d’action québécois sur les maladies rares 2023-2027

Pour donner suite à la publication en juin 2022 de la Politique québécoise pour les maladies rares, le MSSS réitère son engagement envers les personnes atteintes de maladies rares en dévoilant son premier plan d’action. Les actions proposées s’échelonnent sur une période de 4 ans (2023-2027) et s’inscrivent dans la continuité des 3 axes d’interventions dévoilés dans la politique : la sensibilisation et la formation, l’accès facilité aux soins et aux services et la promotion de la recherche, de l’innovation et de la collecte de données.

Tout comme pour la politique, le plan d’action est le fruit d’une collaboration entre les patients, les organisations œuvrant en maladies rares, les cliniciens, les chercheurs ainsi qu’avec les différentes instances du MSSS.

Mot du ministre

C’est avec fierté que nous vous présentons le plan d’action Pour une meilleure reconnaissance et prise en charge des personnes atteintes de maladies rares. Ce plan d’action vient concrétiser la politique sur les maladies rares présentée l’an dernier, qui était une première tant au Québec que dans l’ensemble du pays. Avec les actions qu’il propose, il vient changer profondément la qualité de la prise en charge des personnes atteintes de maladies rares, dans une perspective de prévention inégalée jusqu’à maintenant.

Nous sommes très sensibles à la situation vécue par les personnes atteintes de maladies rares, ainsi que par leurs proches. Le plan d’action a pour objectif de faire en sorte que les soins de santé et les services sociaux que reçoivent les patients soient de la meilleure qualité possible, de même que sécuritaires, équitables, inclusifs, adaptés à leurs besoins particuliers, accessibles et sensibilisés aux impératifs culturels.

Dans le cadre du budget 2023-2024, c’est un financement global de 17,2 millions $ que notre gouvernement alloue pour la réalisation des différentes mesures. Tout comme la politique, le plan d’action s’articule autour de trois axes principaux, soit la sensibilisation et la formation, un accès facilité et équitable au diagnostic et, enfin, la promotion de la recherche, de l’innovation et de la collecte de données.

Nous savons que ce plan d’action était très attendu. Nous nous donnons ainsi les moyens de pallier certains défis actuels comme la difficulté d’avoir un diagnostic rapide ou le manque d’information due à la rareté de ces maladies.

Ensemble, en resserrant les liens interdisciplinaires entre les professionnels, nous pourrons relever ces défis et offrir un meilleur parcours de services aux personnes affectées et à leurs proches.

Christian Dubé Ministre de la Santé

Source : plan d’action sur les maladies rares (1er mai 2023)